CWDM announces new Executive Political Leadership

7 December – Immediate Release

The Cape Winelands District Municipality elected their new council on 2 December 2021. 

“To all political colleagues present today. I thank you all for your displaying your integrity through your behaviour, not only in the run-up to the elections but also today at this inaugural meeting. We are looking forward to working together” stated Ald (Dr) Elna von Schlicht during her inaugural speech.  This is the second consecutive term for Mayor von Schlicht.  

Elected to the following positions are, Deputy Mayor, Ald Margaret Sampson, who served on the Breede Valley’s Mayco during the last term. 

Cllr Donovan Joubert who served in the capacity of single whip of council at the CWDM is elected to Speaker. Cllr Thys Blom holds two hats, he was elected to Whip and continues to hold the position of Ambassador for Persons with Disabilities. 

Photo: Left to Right:

Cllr Donovan Joubert, Speaker; Ald Margaret Sampson, Deputy Mayor, Cllr Thys Blom, Whip and Ald. (Dr) Elna von Schlicht, Executive Mayor.

Cape Winelands News & Updates

Click Here to view our newsletter or subscribe below:

Subscribe to our free Newsletter

Cape Winelands District Municipality © 2023. All Rights Reserved